Nominations for June 28 local elections today


Jun 18, 2017-

Amid Rastriya Janata Party-Nepal (RJP-N)’s toughened position against the June 28 local level elections, the Election Commission on Saturday called for nominations on Sunday for the polls to be held in Province 1, 5 and 7. 

The government on Thursday announced poll postponement in Province 2 until September 18.

As per the EC’s scheduled, candidates can file nomination from 8am to 4pm on Sunday.

The nomination filing date was extended to Sunday as per the government request on Thursday in a bid to bring 

the RJP-N on board the poll process.

The RJP-N and Janajati forces, which have formed a broader alliance of Sanghiya Gathabandhan, however, have snubbed the government’s decision to postpone polls in Province 2 and said they will not participate in the June 28 polls. They have announced general strikes across the Tarai region on Sunday, aiming to foil the nomination process.

People in Provinces 1, 5 and 7 on June 28 will vote to elect 15,038 local representatives. 

The first phase of polls was held on May 14 in Provinces 3, 4 and 6 to elect representatives for 283 local units. 

On the eve of nomination filing date, Chief Election Commissioner Ayodhee Prasad Yadav on Saturday made an appeal to all the political parties and their candidates “to enthusiastically participate” in the nomination process for the second phase of local elections. 

The government has committed to ensuring strong security for the polls, said 

the EC. 

“The EC is confident that security personnel deployed for the elections will actively discourage anti-poll activities and maintain law and order on the ground,” said CEC Yadav.

The election body said that nobody should deprive people of their rights to vote, candidates’ rights to be tested from voters and people’s right to bring service delivery to their doorsteps.  

According to the EC, it has also instructed chief election officers and election officers to make necessary logistical and security arrangements to ease the nomination process. 


Fast Facts

-  Candidate nomination time:  8am-4pm

-  Provinces where polls will be held: 1, 5 and 7 

-  Number of local units: 334 (1 metropolis, 7 sub-metropolitan cities, 111 municipalities and 215 village councils) 

-  Eligible voters: 6,432,765

-  Polling centres: 8,364 

-  Govt officials to be deployed: 66,900 

-  Posts up for grabs: 15,038

Published: 18-06-2017 07:56

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment