EC divides districts for two phases of elections

- Post Report, Kathmandu

Sep 1, 2017-The Election Commission has decided to hold polls in 32 mountain and Hill districts in the first phase on November 26. Elections in the remaining districts will be held on December 7.

The EC decision follows the government’s Wednesday’s announcement to hold the provincial and federal elections in two phases on November 26 and December 7. 

The country must conduct the elections of House of Representatives and provincial assemblies by January 21 as per the constitutional deadline.

The EC has also decided to call on the government to provide it with necessary laws at the earliest. 

The Bill on Ele-ction of House of Representatives and the Bill on Election of Provincial Assembly are stuck at parliamentary State Affairs Committee, with over 300 proposals filed by cross-party lawmakers seeking amendments to different provisions.

On Wednesday, the Constituency Delimitation Commission submitted its report to Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba after carving out 165 electoral constituencies for federal elections and 330 constituencies for provincial polls. 

The EC has also issued a seven-point directive, urging the government to halt political appointments and transfer of civil servants and stop unnecessary foreign visits.

First round (32 districts)—Nov 26

Province 1: Solukhumbu, Sankhuwasabha, Bhojpur, Okhaldhunga, Taplejung, Panchthar and Khotang (7 districts)

Province 3: Nuwakot, Rasuwa, Dhading, Sindhupalchok, 

Dolakha and Ramechhap (6 districts)

Province 4: Mustang, Myagdi, Baglung, Manang, Lamjung and Gorkha (6 districts)

Province 5: Rukum (east) and Rolpa (2 districts)

Province 6: Rukum (west), Jajarkot, Humla, Mugu, Jumla, Kalikot and Dolpa (7 districts)

Province 7: Darchula, Bajhang, Bajura and Baitadi (5 districts)


Second round  (45 districts)—Dec 7

Province 1: Ilam, Tehrathum, Dhankuta, Udaypur, Jhapa, Morang and Sunsari (7 districts)

Province2: Saptari, Siraha, Dhanusa, Mahottari, Sarlahi, Bara, Parsa and Rautahat (8 districts)

Province 3: Sindhuli, Makawanpur, Chitwan, Kavre, Kathmandu, Lalitpur and Bhaktapur (7 districts)

Province 4: Nawalparasi (east of Bardaghat Susta), Tanahun, Kaski, Syangja and Parbat (5 districts)

Province 5: Nawalparasi (west of Bardaghat Susta), Palpa, Arghakhanchi, Gulmi, Rupandehi, Kapilvastu, Dang, Pyuthan, Banke and Bardiya (10 districts)

Province 6: Salyan, Surkhet and Dailekh (3 districts)

Province 7: Kailali, Kanchanpur, Dadeldhura, Achham and Doti (5 districts)

Published: 01-09-2017 07:25

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment