‘SSF-N to lead govt in Province 2’

- Post Report, Kathmandu

Jan 29, 2018-

Sanghiya Samajbadi Forum-Nepal (SSF-N) Chairman Upendra Yadav has said that his party shall lead the government in Province 2. 

Speaking at an interaction in the Capital on Sunday, Yadav said while Province 2 faced numerous challenges due to poverty, unemployment, inadequate resources, illiteracy and lack of attention from the centre, the provincial government under 

the SSF-N would work earnestly towards ensuring the region’s development.  Yadav also said there were several mistakes in the constitution that needed amending to resolve the long-standing political dispute.

On extending the support to the left alliance in the new government formation process at the centre, the SSF-N chair said his party’s decision hinges upon the CPN-UML leadership, whether or not the latter is willing to play a responsible role to make amendments as demanded by the Madhesi community.

If the amendment is assured, the SSF-N will co-operate in the new government formation, said Yadav.


Eight candidates elected unopposed to NA

KATHMANDU: All eight candidates for the National Assembly elections from Province no 2 were elected unopposed on Sunday. A unanimous decision was reached after the Samajbadi Party Nepal candidate, Mohammad Akthar Hussain, withdrew his nomination. 

According to the  Election Commission, Jitendra Dev of the Nepali Congress, Ramesh Prasad Yadav of the Rastriya Janata Party-Nepal and Suman Raj Pyakurel of the CPN-UML have been elected from the other category. From the women quota, Shasikala Dahal of the CPN (Maoist Centre), Mukta Kumari Yadav of the Nepali Congress and Pramila Kumari of the Sanghiya Samajbadi Forum-Nepal have been elected. Brishesh Chandra lal of the Rastriya Janata Party-Nepal and Ram Prit Paswan of the Sanghiya Samajbadi Forum-Nepal have been elected under the marginalised/differently-abled and Dalit groups respectively.   

Chief Election Officer Ram Krishna Upreti said the name list of the elected Upper House representatives from Province 2 will be published on Monday and They will receive their election certificates on February 7 as per the election schedule. (PR)

Published: 29-01-2018 07:38

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment