CM Bhatta assumes office in Province 7

- Post Report, DHANGADHI

Feb 19, 2018-

Chief Minister Trilochan Bhatta and six ministers assumed their offices in Province 7 on Sunday.

The first meeting of the provincial cabinet held later decided to prioritise three national pride projects in the province including the West Seti Hydropower Project and development of agriculture and tourism.

CM Bhatta, the parliamentary party leader of the CPN (Maoist Centre), took the oath of office from Governor Mohanraj Malla in Dhangadhi, the temporary capital of Province 7, on Saturday. After his swearing-in, six ministers also took their oath. Province 7 is the first federal unit in the country to get its full cabinet.

“The historic meeting of the council of ministers decided to prioritise the national pride projects and promote good governance in the province,” said Internal Affairs Minister Prakash Bahadur Malla, who was appointed spokesperson for the state executive.

Soon after taking charge, CM Bhatta monitored the Seti Zonal Hospital and instructed doctors and staff to provide health services effectively.

Deputy speakers elected

POKHARA/BUTWAL: CPN-UML candidates were elected deputy speakers in Provinces 4 and 5 on Sunday. In Province 4, UML leader Srijana Sharma became the deputy speaker by defeating Nepali Congress candidate Manakumari Gurung by 20 votes. Sharma had garnered 38 votes. In Province5, UML leader Krishni Tharu was elected the deputy speaker with 66 votes while her rival from the NC Rina Nepal Bishwokarma got 19 votes. CPN (Maoist Centre) candidate Nirmala Badal Joshi was elected the deputy speaker in Province 7 unopposed.

Jha appointed chief attorney 

JANAKPUR: Advocate Dipendra Jha has been appointed the chief attorney of Province 2. Governor Ratneshwor Lal Kayastha appointed Jha on Sunday on the recommendation of Chief Minister Mohammad Lalbabu Raut. Jha took the oath of office and secrecy by himself due to the lack of laws necessary to guide the ceremony.

Published: 19-02-2018 08:12

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment