Prez okays Khatiwada, Bidari, Poudel for NA

- Post Report, Kathmandu

Feb 21, 2018-

President Bidya Devi Bhandari on Tuesday nominated three members to the National Assembly on the recommendation of the new government.

Yubaraj Khatiwada (Jhapa), Ram Narayan Bidari (Makawanpur) and Bimala Poudel (Morang) were appointed to the 59-member Upper House as provisioned in Section B of Article 86 (2) of the Constitution of Nepal, the Office of the President said in a statement.

Minister for Women, Children and Social Welfare Thammaya Thapa confirmed the recommendations. A Cabinet meeting chaired by Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli on Tuesday morning had recommended the names by withdrawing those forwarded by the Sher Bahadur Deuba-led government.

Khatiwada is a former Nepal Rastra Bank governor, while Poudel was formerly at President Bhandari’s secretariat. Bidari is a senior advocate and a former lawmaker. Khatiwada and Poudel were nominated on the CPN-UML’s quota while Bidari was recommended by the CPN (Maoist Centre).

The Deuba government had recommended Krishna Prasad Poudel, Gopal Basnet and Chadani Joshi as NA members. Fifty-sixty members were elected in the polls held on February 7 in all the seven provinces.

The constitution requires one of the three appointees to be woman. To make the assembly inclusive, at least three women, one Dalit and one member from the disabled or monitory community have been elected from each province.

Congress objects to appointments

KATHMANDU: The Nepali Congress on Tuesday seriously objected to the nomination of three members by President Bidya Devi Bhandari to the National Assembly as recommended by the new government, snubbing the names forwarded by the Sher Bahadur Deuba-led Cabinet. The party that has just come out of power said the move was against the provisions of the constitution. The NC is of the view that the Deuba-led government, which successfully completed the three-tier elections, had the right to make the appointments. 

Published: 21-02-2018 07:36

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment