League kicks off with NRT-Army showdown

  • Martyrs Memorial League
- Post Report, LALITPUR

Sep 20, 2018-

Promoted New Road Team (NRT) will take on Tribhuvan Army Club (TAC) in the opening match of the Martyrs Memorial A Division League at the ANFA Complex grounds in Satdobato on September 29.

In the tiesheet draw held on Wednesday, Manang Marshyangdi Club (MMC) will be up against promoted Brigade Boys Club in Satdobato and Machhindra Club will play against newboys Chyasal Youth Club at the APF grounds, Halchowk, on September 30. The league resumes after five years primarily due to infighting in the All Nepal Football Association (ANFA). As per the draw, the single round robin league will conclude in January.

Altogether 14 teams—Three Star Club, Manang Marshyangdi Club, Nepal Police Club, Nepal Armed Police Force Club, Tribhuvan Army Club, Jawalakhel Youth Club, Friends’ Club, Sankata Club, Machhindra Club, Saraswati Youth Club, Chyasal Youth Club, New Road Team, Brigade Boys and Himalayan Sherpa Club—are set to compete in the league.

Unlike, the standard practice there won’t be relegation this time though. The football governing body ANFA has said the relegation system will be implemented only in the season. ANFA says the provision of relegation was removed after discussions with stakeholders so as to create “positive environment” in football.   

The league carries a total purse of Rs 13.7 million out of which the eventual champions will walk away with Rs five million. The runners-up will get Rs 3.5 million and second runners-up will earn Rs 2.5 million. Others finishing in Top Six will also get cash prizes in addition to preparations amount of Rs two million to all the teams.

Published: 20-09-2018 08:08

Next Story

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment