Army to run free bus service on Tika day

- Post Report, Kathmandu

Oct 16, 2018-

Nepal Army (NA) would ply free public transport services on eight routes in Kathmandu Valley on Friday, the day of Dashain Tika.

The NA announced this decision for the convenience of the passengers because the number of public vehicles comes down significantly during Dashain.

The few public vehicles that operate during Dashain charge exorbitant bus ticket fares. NA provides free transport for the public every year the Dashain Tika day.

Talking to the Post, NA Spokesperson Brigadier General Gakul Bhandari said this service is part of NA’s social responsibility to help citizens.The NA will operate two 30-seat buses offering free rides to people starting 7am , 11am and 3 pm from Bhadrakali.The first route starting from Bhadrakali traverses along Maitighar, New Baneshwor, Koteshwor, Ekantakuna, Balkhu, Kirtipur, Kalanki, Kalimati, Tripureshwor and Ratnapark.

The second route traverses from the Army office in Bhadrakali and will traverse through Jamal, Lainchaur, Narayangopal Chowk, Budhanilakantha, Balaju Chowk, Sorakhutte, Kantipath and Maitighar.The third route traverses from Bhadrakali, Maitighar, Tripureshwor, Kalimati, Kalanki, Thankot, Swyambhu, Chauni Hospital, Tahachal, Teku and Thapathali.

The fourth route starts from Bhadrakali, Maitighar, New Baneshwor, Tinkune, Gaushala, Chabahil, Jorpati, Narayangopal Chowk, Lazimpat, Kantipath and ends at Bhadrakali.The fifth route starts from Bhadrakali, Thapathali, Kupondole, Jawalakhel, Sat-dobato, Chapagaun, Koteshwor, New Baneshwor and ends at Sahidgate.

The sixth route traverses from Bhadrakali, Durbarmarg, Kamalpokhari, Gaushala, Chabahil, Baudha, Sankhu, Chabahil, Gaushala, Tinkune and returns to Bhadrakali. The seventh route traverses from Bhadrakali, Maitighar, New Baneshwor, Old Baneshwor, Gaushala, Sinamangal, Koteshwor, Suryabinayak, Thimi, Koteshwor, Maitighar and back to Bhadrakali.

The eighth route traverses from Bhadrakali, Maitighar, Koteshwor, Satdobato, Kalanki, Balaju, Chabahil, Gaushala, Tinkune and back to Bhadrakali.

Bhandari said the NA has been providing free services for NA staff and their family members since October 11 and would continue up to October 17 (Mahasthami). The free service starts from Kathmandu to Itahari, Hetauda, Dolakha, Ramechhap, Chautara, Trishuli, Dhading, Butwal, Pokhara, Dhangadhi, Lam-jung, Ramechhap, Gorkha, Pokhara, Narayangadh and Siraha.

The NA’s bus services start every day at 6:30 am. This service is for a maximum of five family members. Sajah Yatayat Co-operative has announced to operate buses in the Valley on the day of Tika.Sajha Chief Executive Officer Mahendra Raj Pandey said, “We will not keep our buses in the depot. We will provide bus services for passengers on this day.”

Published: 16-10-2018 09:00

Next Story

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment