Government groups local federal units into four categories

- Rastriya Samachar Samiti, Kathmandu

Jan 5, 2019-

The government has classified the country’s 753 local units into four grades.

According to the Ministry of Federal Affairs and General Administration, the local units were classified on the basis of infrastructure and social development status. Grade ‘A’ signifies most remote areas which includes 162 local units; Grade ‘B’ is remote areas with 218 local units; Grade ‘C’ refers to fairly accessible areas with 275 local units; and Grade ‘D’ is defined as easily accessible areas that has 98 local units.

 Availability of transport facilities (standard and regularity of road and air transport facilities), distance from the province capital, distance from the district headquarters, availability of education facilities at the local level, access to telecommunications and electricity facilities, status of health, human development index and geographical locations are among the determining factors in the classification of the local units.

According to Ministry Spokesperson Suresh Adhikari, the new classification would help in the determination of development priorities at the local level and in the management of employees deputed there.

The Ministry has called on the local units to lodge a complaint within the next seven days if they are not satisfied with the classification.

Published: 05-01-2019 08:26

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment