NCP starts plans for key panel

- SANJEEV GIRI, Kathmandu

May 23, 2018-

The Nepal Communist Party (NCP) has started preparations to set up its Standing Committee. As per the understanding, the Standing Committee (SC) will have a total of 45 members, with 26 from the erstwhile UML and 19 from the former Maoist Centre.

The erstwhile UML has already completed the task of picking 26 SC members. The UML has retained 22 members of the previous SC and inducted four new members. Four leaders of the erstwhile UML SC Amrit Kumar Bohora, Keshav Badal, Pushpa Kadel and Somnath Pyasi are not incorporated into the Central Committee. Their status as invited members in the party makes them ineligible for any position on the SC.According to NCP Central Committee member Bishnu Rijal, four new faces-Bishnu Rimal, Raghuji Panta, Beduram Bhusal and Raghubir Mahaseth-have been picked from the erstwhile UML. Mahaseth is also Minister for Physical Infrastructure and Transport.

“The list of UML candidates has been finalised. We will make a formal announcement as soon as the erstwhile Maoist Centre come out with their list,” Rijal told the Post. NCP Co-chair Pushpa Kamal Dahal will pick candidates after consulting the matter with leaders Narayan Kaji Shrestha and Ram Bahadur Thapa. NCP leader Pampha Bhusal, the spokesperson for the erstwhile Maoist Centre, said she had no information on the selection of SC members. “I am not aware of any such development,” Bhusal said.

According to her, several names have been floated in the media and social media with a motive of pitching candidates. “However, such pitching does not hold any formal base as Co-chairman Dahal will select leaders to represent the party in the SC,” she said. With Dahal, NCP Spokesperson Shrestha and Central Secretariat member Thapa among the top-nine party leaders figuring in the SC, the erstwhile Maoist Centre has a tough task on hand to fill the 16 remaining seats.

EX-UML members in standing committee

1. KP Sharma Oli

2. Madhav Kumar Nepal

3. Jhala Nath Khanal

4. Bam Dev Gautam

5. Yuvaraj Gyawali

6. Asta Laxmi Shakya

7. Bhim Rawal

8. Bishnu Poudel

9. Ishwor Pokhrel

10. Ghanshyam Bhusal

11. Prithbi Shubba Gurung

12. Pradeep Gyawali

13. Bhim Acharya

14. Gokarna Bista

15. Yogesh Bhattarai

16. Kiran Gurung

17. Chabi Lal Bishwokarma

18. Mukunda Neupane

19. Shatya Narayan Mandal

20. Surendra Pandey

21. Shanker Pokhrel

22. Shubash Nembang

23. Bishnu Rimal

24. Raghuji Panta

25. Beduram Bhusal

26. Raghubir Mahaseth

Published: 23-05-2018 08:13

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment

Main News