Pakistan win Wheelchair Asia Cup title

- Sports Bureau, Kathmandu

May 19, 2019-

Pakistan claimed the Wheelchair Asia Cup Twenty20 cricket tournament title with a convincing five-wicket victory over India on Saturday.

Electing to bat first at the TU Stadium, India amassed 210-2 in 20 overs on a back of a century from Saurabh Malik. Pakistan were reduced to 55-4 at one stage but an unbeaten ton from Muhammad Latif steered them to 211-6 in 19.3 overs. Along with the title, Pakistan claimed a cash purse of Rs 60,000 and India got Rs 30,000.

India didn’t have the best start in the game losing opener Parashuram Desale (five) with just 26 runs on the board. Malik then held the innings and forged two crucial partnerships leading his side to a formidable total. Malik shared 67 runs for the second wicket with Vishwanath Gaurav (23) and an unbeaten 117 run partnership for the third with Nikul Prajapati.

Malik made an unbeaten 104 off 62 balls hitting 19 boundaries and a six. Prajapati made 63 not out from 33 balls with 12 hits to the fence. Malik also starred with the ball and took two of the first four Pakistan wickets to fall as India sniffed victory. But Latif ran riot over Indian bowlers and did the bulk of scoring in his match-winning 151-run fourth wicket partnership with Syed Arsalan Ahmed (15).

Man-of-the-final Latif hammered 156 not out from 68 deliveries striking 27 boundaries and five sixes. Muhammad Fiaz (15) was another Pakistani batsman to reach double digits. Desale and Gaurav also took a wicket each for India.

Latif also walked away with man-of-the-series award and pocketed Rs 5,000. He was also named the best batsman of the tournament having amassed a total of 366 runs from four matches that included two centuries. Malik took the best bowler’s honour with six wickets. Laxman Birhade of India was named the best fielder. The tournament was participated in by hosts Nepal, Pakistan and India.

Published: 19-05-2019 08:37

Next Story

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment